In Zenskar, a user is someone who can access the web application by authenticating their credentials. Roles must be assigned to a user. Roles grant users permissions to perform tasks. A role is a collection of permissions.

An existing user can be granted the following permissions related to user management:

  • Can Read User: grants an existing user the permission to view the other users in their organization.
  • Can Write User: grants an existing user the permission to create users in their organization.
  • Can Delete User: grants an existing user the permission to delete users in their organization.

Adding a new user

🚧

Do you have the permission?

Only a user with Can Write User permission can add a new user.

  1. Click on the named drop-up menu displayed on the bottom of the side panel.
  2. Click on the Users menu item.
  1. Click the + ADD NEW USER button
  1. Add the new user's details in the modal dialog, and click the SAVE USER button:
  1. The newly added user will be displayed on the page:

Assigning role and permissions to a user

A user can be assigned only one role. However, a user can be granted more permissions than those associated with the role assigned to them.

Editing a user

  1. On the Users page, click on the user you wish to edit.
  2. Update the details and click on SAVE USER.

How to delete a user?

🚧

Do you have the permission?

Only a user with Can Delete User permission can delete a user.

Each row on the Users page has a kebab menu. Clicking on the kebab menu will display the option to delete a user.